Nick's Mehoshi Maru

Discussion in 'Warship Builds' started by NickMyers, Mar 15, 2009.

1. NickMyers

NickMyers Admin RCWC Staff

Ok, its not a warship, but theres no 'Self-Propelled Floating Target Build' section.
    This is my Mehoshi Maru, based off of the plans I drew up based off of Carls plans. My plans thread is here.
    This is my first build, and as such its a bit rough (The 'not finished' part doesnt help). As of the current status, all the various pieces are scrap-bin wood, and are a bit mix and match as a result.
    The ribs are all cut, and the rails for the fore and aft sections are rough cut out (need filing and sanding on the edges, and proper beveling, and to have their centers cut out). Keels are cut and notched. Some work needs to be done on the notch alignment for some of the ribs. I did a sloppy job on some of them and they dont sit quite center. Most of the ribs still need to be sanded/filed to clean up their edges - especially the interior edges.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    This is a shot of the very chewed up side of the aft rail. I was in a hurry to get it done before I had to leave. Going to be spending some time with a file to get that neatened up. Good thing I left plenty of extra material on the edge. :D
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    While I was taking pictures, one of the cats decided to take an interest...
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. rarena

rarena Well-Known Member

Hey I made one of those too! It's a nice build so far, I like it. Remember don't be too critical as most of that will be covered up and never seen. You are going to slop glue all over it, stick wood and paper to it and then shoot the hell out of it. Sad life for a boat, huh

3. NickMyers

Hehehe, That thought is what keeps me sane every time something doesn't line up quite right. :)

What did you power yours with?

4. rarena

rarena Well-Known Member