Another ESC question

Discussion in 'Propulsion' started by Jay Jennings, Jul 5, 2008.

1. Jay Jennings

Jay Jennings Well-Known Member

Hey all, does an ESC care if you are using a digital radio or not? There are two different ones here and neither work correctly with the 75 MHz radios. Thanks, J

2. Powder Monkey

Powder Monkey Active Member

I dont think so but I think the only diffrence is brushless or brushed motor

do you have the power hooked up correctly?

3. Powder Monkey

Do they work on another model [?] I guess what I’m trying to say is process of elimination if you haven’t already but I’m sure you did or you wouldn’t be asking humm

4. Jay Jennings

Yup the hook ups are correct. And we tried one ESC on both models and the other ESC only on one. I am recharging the batteries and will try again.
    J

5. Powder Monkey

can you give a little more info? type set up and so on

6. Jay Jennings

Don' t know what that is. I am brand new to ESCs and never hooked one up before this one.
    J

7. Kotori87

Kotori87 Well-Known Member

Well, a photo of the ESC, or a brand name would be helpful.

It's possible that you're trying to use a brushless ESC with a brushed motor, or a brushless motor with a brushed ESC. Another possibility is you used a receiver battery with an ESC that has BEC, and toasted the ESC. If it let out smoke, that's probably the cause. If you're not getting proper contacts in your power line, that could be another possible issue. You might also simply have got an ESC that was bad from the factory. That does happen occasionally. We can't begin to narrow down the possibilities unless we know what you've got and what the symptoms are.

8. Powder Monkey

do you have a power meter ?

9. Jay Jennings