Battery Options...

Discussion in 'Electrical & Radio' started by McSpuds, Oct 21, 2013.

1. McSpuds

McSpuds Vendor

I have shelved the AOS ship till I have a couple of my ongoing projects finished. With my Mutsu getting real close to being finished I have decided to go ahead and let my two boys start getting involved in the hobby.
    I have two Identical Espanas for them to cut their teeth with. I want to switch from the older SLA's to the newer LiFePo4s but I have no idea as to what a smaller vessel will need. I am assuming a couple of the round cells that are 3.2v - 10AH. They seam to be small enough yet have plenty of juice for two rookie captains to chase dad around the pond with.
    www.batteryspace.com/customizelifep...thpcb.aspx

Is this a correct assumption?

2. jadfer

jadfer Well-Known Member

My major issue with it is the 10amp limit on the PCB... then ... 100 BUCKS a pack that is $10 per AH!!

In addition as this is a 28 second Class 4 DN you wont be running from anyone.. I certainly wouldn't run 10ah in the VDT if I was building it.

I would want a minimum of a stinger pump and with dual drive motors I would need more than 10ah in a battle.

Try to fit two of these in your ship if possible.
    http://www.batteryspace.com/LiFePO4-Prismatic-Module-3.2V-20-Ah-10C-Rate-64-wh.aspx

3. jadfer

jadfer Well-Known Member

It posted twice.. delete me :)

4. McSpuds

McSpuds Vendor

Yep thats what I run in my Mutsu... wont fit in the Espana :(