capacitor

Discussion in 'Propulsion' started by Powder Monkey, Apr 15, 2008.

1. Powder Monkey

Powder Monkey Active Member

I'm a carpenter not an electrician is this a good one
    For drive motors and dose one (I would think so) go onto pump as well?

0.1µF 50V 10% PC-Mount Capacitor
    0.1 microfarad
    50VDC
    Tolerance: ±10%
    General Features

Model 272-1069

Product Type Metal Film Capacitors

Body Material Multi

Fits What

Model 272-1069

Miscellaneous Features

Min Operating Temperature -40 Fahrenheit

Max Operating Temperature 85 Fahrenheit

Supported Languages English

2. Powder Monkey

I feel like major Tom is anybody out there oh I get it this is like a magic lamp I already got all my wishes damit I wished I had known my last wish would have been for more wishes [;)]

3. rowboat captain

rowboat captain Member

the type you want to use are the disk kind. not the metal can type. should be on all motors. one from positive to negitive and one fromthe positve to the motor case and one more from neg to motor case. + to - 4.7 u I think and fron - to case .1u same for + to case.

4. Tugboat

Tugboat Facilitator RCWC Staff Admiral (Supporter)

Almost any disk capacitor will be fine for our application, as long as the voltage rating is high enough (say, >25V)

5. JohnmCA72

JohnmCA72 Member

The shape of the case is meaningless.

Avoid polyester caps. They can explode spectacularly when subjected to excessive voltage.

Avoid any type of polarized cap (i.e. with a '+' or '-' sign on it).

No need to be overly precise about a value. 0.1 µF works fine. Allow plenty of "headroom". I usually use caps that are rated at 6x-7x my supply voltage, or more.

JM

6. Powder Monkey

Is there any one that uses Radio Shack capacitors that can just give me a # maybe I went there tonight and walked out with a headache?[V]

7. JohnmCA72

JohnmCA72 Member

I think I've used all of these at 1 time or another: