Cheap ships

Discussion in 'Ship Comparison' started by U.S.S. Arazona, Jul 5, 2010.

1. U.S.S. Arazona

U.S.S. Arazona Active Member

Hi, I'm new to the hobby and I was wondering what the best ship would be to get. I'd like something with guns, but I don't want to pay a lot. Could someone tell me where I could get a good, cheap ship.

2. Tugboat

Tugboat Facilitator RCWC Staff Admiral (Supporter)

Good and cheap are usually not found together in model warships. Of course, cheap is a relative term. Around $400 for a cruiser, ready to go, is pretty cheap (if everything works). If you live close to someone who can help you, it's usually cheaper (because they already have tools and experience). But a ready-to-go ship will not usually be 'cheap', because of the money and time invested.

But the cheapest way to do a warship is to buy two sheets of 12"x48"x1/4" plywood ($9/sheet), 1 sheet of 12"x48"x1/2" plywood($8.50/sheet), buy a cheap blue-handled hand jigsaw (aka coping saw) and a flat file at Lowe's for around $9 each. Download a set of cruiser plans (or predreadnought plans)(free). Make 22 copies of the frames drawing at $0.10/page, fold them in half at the centerline, and cut out each of the ribs on paper(scissors $2 at Hobby Lobby). Glue these papers to one sheet of 1/4" plywood (UHU Stick glue, $2 at Hobby Lobby), and sit down with the jigsaw to cut the ribs out of the wood (free, not factoring the value of your time). Buy one 1/4" x 1/4" x 48" hardwood stick($0.83 at Hobby Lobby) to play keel, and fit the ribs one at a time to the keel. If you epoxy them to the keel at this time (5 minute epoxy $10.99 at Hobby Lobby, mix it with scrap wood on pieces of old envelopes, $0.00), make sure that the ribs are vertical and true. When you finish with this, I'll have the rest of the instructions typed :)

Anyone wanna see me do it with a Takao?

3. U.S.S. Arazona

K,thanks. I should be done soon

4. Anachronus

Anachronus Well-Known Member