DO NOT try this at home (hacking a 3d-printed hull)

Discussion in 'Digital Design and Fabrication' started by Kotori87, Dec 31, 2023.

1. Kotori87

Kotori87 Well-Known Member

20231231_224623.jpg

Please see the title before you try this at home. I am an expert, I took excessive care, and I'm still not entirely satisfied with how it worked out. Modifying a 3d-printed hull is very difficult because it exposes the hull's infill. If it is not properly re-sealed, terrible things could result. You may also wreck the hull's structural integrity or destroy other designed features of the hull. In this case, I needed to perform specific modifications to install my 3d-printed cannons, and re-printing the hull was not an option.

First up, the cannons themselves:
    20231223_171549.jpg 20231223_171603.jpg

As you can see, they are round. Easy to install in normal round barbettes with an ID of at least 48mm, they feed well and hit hard. Loading is through a port on the top, so below-deck access is not required. Unlike traditional copper tube cannons, they need a big round hole to mount in. This was no problem for the forward and aft turrets of the battlecruisers, but I didn't have that option for the wing turrets. It was time for extreme measures. Out came the dremel.

Pictures for Posting (1).jpg Pictures for Posting (2).jpg