Faa Di Bruno build

Discussion in 'Warship Builds' started by HMTOlympic, Sep 24, 2014.

1. HMTOlympic

HMTOlympic Member

im new to this sport and am still debating on which should be my first ship, ik i have to stay within 1900-1945 commission. im trying to do a unique ship and have a few good ones. i recently have been thinking of trying to start simple until i get a hang on the scale translations to field handling so i thought that using the Faa` Di Bruno would be a good start. she was a floating battery basically top speed of 3.3knots with 2 15in guns on a single turret. i thought this ship, while slow, would be a good stratiegic start due to her low profile making her a harder target with some fairly large guns to bite back with. also she only has one turret so it will be easy for me to keep track of the rotation set so i may better my readyness to try the next target, i know for a fact that at the speed she is set to will make her a sitting duck and many will try to sink it first because it appers to be the easiest. the only problem im running into is the lack of information to build an accurate hull shape from and that i dont know how to setup the electronics. if there is somebody nearby jacksonville florida that can help me with the build itself that would be nice. if you have anyother tips that would be helpfull thank you.
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Italian_monit...Bruno2.png
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Italian_monit..._Bruno.png

2. Tugboat

Tugboat Facilitator RCWC Staff Admiral (Supporter)

Major issue is that ships receive units based on their as-built configuration. Guess how Faa di Bruno served in the early years? ;)

Hint: She started life as an unarmed garbage scow. Literally.

Best bet is to find a nice ship and build something that's allowed to be armed.

3. rocketsmith

rocketsmith Member

4. Tugboat

My bad... converted from a floating crane. Unarmed.