first time scratch build of a hull

Discussion in 'Construction' started by The Texan, Apr 8, 2013.

1. The Texan

The Texan Member

so this summer I'm wanting to start building a large scale war ship to sail, but not to battle, i'm also wondering how much it would cost to buy the materials needed to build just the hull. any sugestions and tips would be very nice, also as i'm new to the hobby i'm in need of a lot pointers.

2. absolutek

absolutek -->> C T D <<--

Well that really depends on the size of the ship you plan on building, and what kind of materials you plan on using (Wood or Fibreglass?). Then the quality of materials can also play a significant part in that as well. If you'd care to provide more details on what you'd like to build we would be able to better help you.

3. The Texan

The Texan Member

ok, well i wanted to build a ship from wood, and glass it, only issue is i have a limited budget with witch to acquire said materials, and the type of ship is a cruiser, because i'm really hoping to mount automatic airsoft guns, my friends and i have been looking into this for a while, i think the cruiser hull would work best for what i have planned, which is using it mainly as anti-personnel ship to use off shore, maneuverability is a must because i'm going to have 6 or 7 people firing back at me.

4. jstod

jstod Well-Known Member

As someone who recently attempted to build the Bismarck from scratch I can tell you that the actual cost of materials CAN be low as long you take your time and do it right the first time. For a wood source try National balsa: http://www.nationalbalsa.com/birch_plywood_s/58.htm

I do not know if they are the cheapest but the quality is excellent. If you take your time with the hull, ask a lot of questions on the forum the hull will be the cheapest part of your build.