Hello from Chicagoland

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Miller7D, Mar 23, 2010.

1. Miller7D

Miller7D Member

Greetings, salutations, and full broadsides for all!
    I first heard about this crazy hobby in the back of a World War II magazine when Swampy still owned Swampworks, and it was practically love at first sight. I'm one of those heathens that believes a model should be functional rather than an glorified paperweight, and I've had the itch to build and battle for years, just not the time or the resources.
    In addition to being a Fast Gun/MWC enthusiast without a command, I am a professional photographer specializing in weddings, church conferences, and other special events. So, at some point in the future you may see me at events cheerfully shooting hundreds of frames and capturing all the action as only Canon D-SLRs (in my opinion) can do. Later this year I'm hoping to start work on my first build, and thank God for Strike Models and their purchase of Swampworks Mfg assets; I've wanted a swampworks hull for ages.
    Looking forward to diving into the Magnificent Obsession!

2. Buddy

Buddy Active Member

Welcome aboard! Happy to have you come along!
    Buddy

3. froggyfrenchman

froggyfrenchman Well-Known Member

Welcome to the hobby, and the site.
    What ship are you looking to build?
    Mikey

4. Miller7D

Miller7D Member

Thanks both of you for the welcome.
    My first build will be either a Brooklyn (especially for combat) or an Iowa, but I really want to build an Iowa, at least to be a showboat before doing a combat conversion later on down the road. The more likely scenario is the Brooklyn first, since it seems to be among the most rookie-friendly. But that Iowa... it calls to me, lol.

5. eljefe

eljefe Active Member

Algonquin, huh? That's where I grew up before moving to the distant Mojave Desert. One thing's for sure--there's far more little ponds and lakes to sail upon in your neck of the woods than out here.

6. Miller7D