Hello from CT

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by DBerger, Sep 16, 2009.

1. DBerger

DBerger New Member

Hello all, my name is dan Berger, but just call me Berger.
    About me: I am 23 years old, I worked in the AutoCAD field before being laid off. I play tabletop wargaming (Warhammer, Warhammer 40k, and Flames of War). I have alot of modelling and painting knowledge. I run my own paintball team, The Connecticut Commandos, and have a vast knowledge of air systems (designed my own PVC LAW rocket laucnhers with a friend). My dad came from Germany in 1967 with his 4 brothers and parents. If I start this I would most be interested in a bismark. I would like to think with my extensive knowledge of how not to blow myself up with compressed air that I could possibly make some efficent gun turrents, or possibly electro ones from airsoft (I saw the thread seems doable).
    My plan is to buy revells Schnellboot model and R/C as a test run. After that My goal is to make a fully functional Bismark. My questions are this and forgive me I did not find any answers.
    Are their any guides to make Turrets and remote control systems for them?
    Are their any guides to R/Cing a boat in general.
    What is a good Bismark kit to start with?
    Do you always tape up the holes in the hull, or do you have balsa wood replacements that just go on after the day is out?
    What are styles of ships ( I see Big Guns used alot), what are the differences in rulesets?
    What are the primary scales of ships?
    Any comments or suggestions for someone just starting out, I do not want to say money is not an issue, but I have been ebaying lately and have some spare change and Im tired of starting new tabletop armies.
    Anyone else from CT? or anyone know of any clubs in the NY, RI, Mass area?

Thanks for your time, I am excited to order a schnellboot model and hope to R/C by december is so I can start a Bismark and kick off spring with a blast.

2. absolutek