Hello from Mississippi

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by radollar2000, Dec 29, 2008.

1. radollar2000

radollar2000 Active Member

Hey everybody! I just want to go ahead and thank ya'll for the ideas and questions answered just by reading. It is really great that I could look around and get a feel of the site before joining. So anyhow, I'm a college student at Mississippi State University and I have started construction on a Des Moines Class crusier with the hope of completion by the summer months. Hope to see ya'll on the water!

Happy Holidays and Capsizing
    (hopefully at the end of my guns) :)

2. BoomerBoy17

BoomerBoy17 Active Member

happy holidays and welcome aboard radollar. Glad to have you, what clubset will you be battling with? Have you visited any battles or build sessions yet? If you answered i dont know, or no to either, you might want to. Veterans help alot, believe me, and we have them here. Best of luck. Also, as a side note, I am planning to complete my first ship, a Graf Spee, for the summer too.

3. JustinScott

JustinScott Well-Known Member

Welcome on board, thanks for the kind words. :) If you have any questions or problems with your build... don't hesitate to ask! :)

4. froggyfrenchman

froggyfrenchman Well-Known Member

Welcome.
    You have picked a cruiser that is very forgiving to the new builder. She has plenty of room, and weight. But you stil need to think "weight-saving" from the start, when it comes to stuff that isn't in the very floor of the ship.
    Just so that she doesn't get too top-heavy.
    Happy trails.
    Mikey

5. Bob

Bob Well-Known Member

There is a big battle getting put together March 15-16-17 in LA, kind of next door to you. If you can make it over I should have my spare cruiser for you to battle with. Check out this for more info:
    http://www.mwci.org/eventinfo.shtml?108_11_2_11

6. BoomerBoy17