Hello. Trying to get into the RC Combat Hobby

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Sixth Doctor, Dec 3, 2023.

1. Sixth Doctor

Sixth Doctor New Member

Hello, everyone.

I'm new to the hobby, but not to the history behind it. I've got aspirations to do something with ironclads and/or pre-dreadnoughts, but I realize that isn't the primary focus of most clubs and hobbyists (which is absolutely fine.) I thought it might be interesting to start with something simple and fun: maybe the Surcouf or an I-400 as a surface runner. (However, they could be hugely complex: again, total rookiee here. So feel free to dissuade me from my naivete!) Recently saw a model of the Wasp that could be built for combat, that could be fun. As I understand it, there's a shortage of folks building Allied warships, anyway.

What I'd like to do is to find the appropriate parts and materials needed to build and run one of these. Whilst I'm not new to model building, the mechanics of this kind of combat are completely new to me, and I'd like to find a way to learn them.

I've noticed there are more pre-built rc warships, but I'm assuming, short of some sort of IR system ,that those aren't really appropriate for the combat side of the hobby: they appear to have the wrong kind of hull, and of course they aren't properly set up for this kind of activity. But if they can be converted then, wonderful!

Anyhow, I'm presently in the US, but will likely be moving to the UK in the next year. I am told there are Warship clubs there, but haven't found much information, so, that, too would be something interesting to learn.

At any rate, thanks for your time, and for allowing me to join the forum. I look forward to learning and meeting new friends.

- A.

2. tgalx3

tgalx3 Well-Known Member

Welcome! Glad to have new folks here. Where at in the US are you located? You’ll definitely want to get involved in your local club even if for a few months.

Sixth Doctor likes this.
  3. Sixth Doctor