Hi.

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Captain Duga, Oct 22, 2015.

1. Captain Duga

Captain Duga New Member

Hello, fellow captains and admirals. I am Captain Duga, a new member of this hobby.

...well.

To tell you the truth, I've never actually, well, sailed an RC ship before, much less actually build one.

I'm actually an amateur scale modeler of styrene. I'm pretty good with ships, but scratchbuilding stuff small parts isn't really my thing.

That's why I came here, to scratchbuild large stuff, and to get the tiny stuff later. I'm in the middle of bright, sunny, and on fire California, so there's basically no water in a 200 mile radius between me and one of my friends in Arizona.

I'm a student, actually, and I don't have much spare time to do my models, let alone have an RC hobby.

I just always thought ships were cool.

Another horrid factor of me is that I have absolutely no experience with RC electronics. So that'll be fun, yeah.

So, that's me.

What should I do for my first project? I'm planning on re-creating a 1/144 scale Orfey-class DD from one of our talented members, but I can never remember the name of them.

Anyways, good luck and high seas!

Nick Park likes this.
  2. NickMyers

NickMyers Admin RCWC Staff

Welcome!

And please don't do a DD if you're going 1/144 - its a bad platform to learn all the things you need to learn for the hobby, far too tempermental and sensitive

3. Gary Powell

Gary Powell Well-Known Member

If your interested, we are having an event November 7 in Lincoln, about 20 miles north of Sacramento. An Orfey Class destroyer would work perfectly in our clubs format. It would get 2 guns and should be a stable fighting platform to work with.

NickMyers likes this.
  4. Rob Wood

Rob Wood NAMBA Rep