How does the radio system work??

Discussion in 'Electrical & Radio' started by metaphysics1221, Mar 20, 2008.

1. metaphysics1221

metaphysics1221 Member

I am new at this entire business of rc models, and I am trying to figure out how these systems work. I tried buying units like these (http://www.allelectronics.com/cgi-bin/item/RC-13/search/4-CHANNEL_ON___OFF_12_VDC_REMOTE_CONTROL_.html)
    to avoid using fancy gear. However, I have had no luck, they units have been not working/burning out for no reason, etc. so I am looking into actual radio equipment.

I understand the science behind it, but I can't find a site that explains how you hook everything up. I need to be able to control, from say a four channel radio, two pumps and two motors (each of which must be reversible.) How is this done and how much am I looking at cost wise? I have absolutely no idea what to get, but I don't really want to spend more than ~$150 unless ABSOLUTELY required I'm in high school, so this project is taxing my resources as it is ;)

Thanks for your help!

2. JohnmCA72

JohnmCA72 Member

For starters, see: http://www.ntxbg.org - How To Articles - Radio Basics.

JM

3. Evil Joker

Evil Joker Member

this is one u can use i have one .it does what u are asking for.http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXEUM1**&P=0

4. wrenow

wrenow RIP

What have you burned up (the TX or RX) and what did you do.

The Vex radio you refer to is pretty darn rugged and reliable - I have literally more than a dozen in service in my club. The RX is not suitable, however - it is designed for interfacing to a microcontroller not to servos. You just replace it with a regular hobby RX (of the proper shift) and you are good to go. There is a full discussion over on the NTXBG.org knowledgebase under Vex Radios.

Cheers,

5. metaphysics1221

metaphysics1221 Member

Is that what these are? I don't know, I just purchased them to see if they would work to control the motors and pumps.