Introducing

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by jadefalcon, Jun 2, 2008.

1. jadefalcon

jadefalcon New Member

Hello, my name is Rob and I found the website through some research on my projects.

I am 19 years old and I am currently a student at the Pennsylvania State University and I am majoring in mechanical-electrical engineering. I just completed my first year at Penn State and I found it a rather large challenge- but I met the challenge and I plan on working harder next year.

I am a model builder and I have been building on and off since 2003, but really kicked off again around 2005, 2007 then this year. I love building warships and I have had a fascination with them for a couple of years now. Last year I went and purchased a Yamato kit. My roommate, an electrical engineer is into HO scale trains. When I talked to him and said something like "boy I wish I could drive this thing around" he told me "why not?" and it started from there. I built the model, and together we worked on the ship's RC conversion. Both us us were new to doing it, so the conversion was a learning process.

I am still into RC'ing my 1/350 subjects, and I always admired videos over the internet with scratchbuilt ships pulverizing the crap out of each other. While I am not financually ready for such a venture, I enjoy reading articles and reading exactly how RC naval combat works. if I were to build a combat vessel, I would probably build a Limberg DD-445 Blue Devil destroyer. I built one as my first ship model, and I would say that this is a nice ship to convert into a combat ship.