new guy from london

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by littlelooca, Sep 15, 2011.

1. littlelooca

littlelooca New Member

hi guys im new in this hobby and very interested. Im 12 and quite experienced model builder, ive built them since i was 4. im thinking of a crusier type ship with a two level deck any ideas would be appreciated.

2. mike5334

mike5334 Well-Known Member

Welcome and glad to have you here. In fact, glad to have both UK folks here. :)

IMO, when it comes to building the first ship, I generally suggest one that you want to build for personal reasons. Have a favorite ship that you have always thought was neat or admired? Perhaps a ship that a ancestor served aboard in the service? Mayhap there is a ship that has caught one's fancy for whatever reason. Build it! I got a lot of satisfaction building a Richelieu for my first ship even if it isn't the most competitive ship in the fast gun formats.

The UK builders have some pretty significant challenges arming ships for combat ... but that does not prevent building an unarmed ship for "combat" sorties out on the water with friends. :)

3. Knight4hire

Knight4hire Active Member

Welcome!
    Hope you have a wonderful time with the hobby.

4. froggyfrenchman

froggyfrenchman Well-Known Member

Welcome to the hobby, and this site.
    Your timing couldn't have been better.
    You are the second person from England to join in the last few days.
    Any particular nationality of ships that you are interested in?
    Mikey

5. littlelooca

littlelooca New Member

hi thanks for the warm welcome. any type of country possibly the ww2 germans because i quite like theyre heavy cruezers/battleships .iv taken a liking for the shclactkreuzer [sorry i cant really spell it ]. an any one tell me what class or ship its sister to.

6. littlelooca

littlelooca New Member

i was looking at the strikemodels plans for hood or or rodney. would the be able to get over to were i live and which one is best in combat