New guy in New Jersey

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by bsgkid117, Feb 8, 2013.

1. bsgkid117

bsgkid117 Vendor

I have to admit, I've been looking at these model warships since I was about 12 years old. Always thought they were some of the coolest things I've ever seen. Now that I'm a bit older and have a bit more money, I've been thinking about building one myself. I'm mechanically inclined (I've built two rock crawling trucks and worked on a few drag cars) and I enjoy building 1/350th scale model warships. I have no RC model experience, but I didn't have any car experience when I first started that either! :D

Anyone else local to the NJ area? Specifically, I'm in South Jersey, right around the Atlantic City area. Within an hour of Philly and 45 minutes away from Toms River. Would love to meet up with someone and check out what some of this magic looks like in real life. I have no idea what I want to build yet, but I guess what the locals have already will influence me in one direction or another.
    For someone with as little experience as me, what would you guys recommend? I know there are a bunch of different kinds of rules, big gun, fast gun, etc, but what is more widespread in the east coast area? I have to admit that big gun with rotating turrets and the whole deal sounds cool as heck, but also overwhelming as heck.
    Thanks for the guidance!
    -Will

2. SnipeHunter

SnipeHunter Well-Known Member