new guy, needs help

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by PSYCHO, Jan 30, 2014.

1. PSYCHO

PSYCHO Member

hey everyone, im new but have been looking into this for over a year, trying to gather up as much info as possible, and well, i was wondering if anyone can help me with a few questions, im trying to decide on a starter ship, simple, yet affordable, though money is not a problem, and i would prefer it to be what i assume is called a "Fast gun" setup. is there any way i dont have to make from scratch for my first time ship, i am aware strikemodels has what appears to be kits, but i have no building experience and so i was wondering how simple they are to build, for a beginner. And which ship would be most recomended as a starter, im not looking into something huge right away, so a small cruiser might do, as long as i can arm it with .177, anywho, thanks in advance, any help is much apretiated. :woot:

2. jstod

jstod Well-Known Member

Welcome! The easiest way to get into this amazingly fun hobby is to find a local club and start interacting with the members directly. They will be able to give you hands on training with ship building and handling. Where are you located? Also many clubs have guys with loner ships or just ships they would like to sell to new players.

I am not sure what the best starter ship for Fast Gun (all BB cannons) as I am a Big Gunner personally but I have been told that a cruiser is best way to learn. If you look on Strikmodels.com in the hull/kit section, at or near the bottom of each ships description they list what skill level the ship is best for. For example, the USS Brooklyn is listed as one of the best rookie ships to build and battle. It even is available as a complete battling kit with basically everything you need.

With the help of a local club and the people on this site, ships are relatively easy to build even for first timers, although mistakes do happen even with the most experienced builders.

Hope this helps!

Jon