New Guy - Ventura, CA

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by GeekSpeed, Dec 9, 2010.

1. GeekSpeed

GeekSpeed Active Member

Hi All. New guy here. I have been looking at doing RC combat for years (since I was a young teenager). Now that I am an adult with means, I think it might be time to give it a try. So, a couple of questions:
    I see that SCRAP is nearyby-ish. Are there any other Central/Southern California groups? The reason that I ask is that SCRAP is a bit far from me, and the ruleset only allows completed vessels (which may or may not be a problem, depends on what I want to build).
    A little background on me, I am a 30-something husband and father and I work as a computer engineer all over Southern CA. I have a keen interest in the ships of the more marginal navies from WWI and WWII as well as the never-weres (not the pie-in-the-sky ones, but the ones that were approved or seriously considered). My main navies of interest are Russian, French (I don't know why), and a little bit of Italian.
    I am looking forward to talking with you all and learning from your experiences. Thanks!

Ryan W.

2. Kotori87

Kotori87 Well-Known Member

Hi Ryan, welcome aboard!

There are four major clubs in California. For Fast Gun, there's SCRAP and Cal-Neva Combat Club (Sacramento and Reno area). For Big Gun, there's the Western Warship Combat Club (in San Jose) and the South Coast Battle Group, in LA. The SCBG is closer to you than the WWCC, but is not active. They imploded years ago, and haven't really recovered from that.