New in NC

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Wolcott27645, Dec 16, 2014.

1. Wolcott27645

Wolcott27645 Member

I am new at the hobby and just finished a scratch built cabin cruiser, which I hope to get on the water this weekend if the weather is nice. I got an early Christmas gift from my wife of a Jenkse USS Baltimore hull kit. I have read the MWC rules and have a question about skinning the hull. Do I plank over the hull with 1/8 sheet and then cover with fiberglass or do I do strait fiberglass? I apologize if this is a repeat posting. Any other info or tips would greatly be appreciated and I will be sure to post pics as I go along. My goal is to attend the IRC nats in June in Oakboro NC as long as the Army doesn’t have other plans. Thanks in advance!

Attached Files:

2. irnuke

irnuke -->> C T D <<--

Welcome aboard Wolcott! There are several different approaches to doing the lower hull:
    1) Balsa or other wood block between ribs (up to the 1" below waterline that is the bottom of the penetrable windows) sanded to fit, then coated w/ fiberglass
    2) Planking hull (again, up to 1" below mark) then fiberglass
    3) Tape hull, fill w/ expanding foam, remove tape, fill voids & bubbles, then 'glass

Few more I've probably overlooked. Strongly recommend you read through some of the build threads on this site before starting assembly of Baltimore.

3. jch72

jch72 Active Member

Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
    Whereabouts in North Carolina are you located? I'm in Greensboro, I could type things about building all day, but actually building with an experienced battler is a much better way to keep your feet dry.

Ron Hunt

4. Wolcott27645

Wolcott27645 Member