Servo wiring

Discussion in 'Electrical & Radio' started by Fred, Oct 6, 2010.

1. Fred

Fred New Member

I am new to this and would like to know the nature of the three wires. I presume that I have a center one with the pulses coming thru between either negative and positive from center. If I have a limit switch on my turret can I then open up the circuit say the negative until the turret is moved away again from the limit switch. This would provide me with a sensible solution not to overshoot the limit thus set.
    hope I was able t explain myself and look forward for an answer

2. Tugboat

Tugboat Facilitator RCWC Staff Admiral (Supporter)

Okay a few guidelines:
    For a Futaba, the black is ground. The red wire is positive, and the white wire is signal. For Hextronic, brown is ground, red power, and orange signal. I don't hve any other brand's servos inside the house to get colors from, sorry :(

As far as cutting the ground wire with a limit switch, NONONONONONO. All that will do is kill the servo when it rotates too far, and it won't come back until you (by hand) rotate the servo so the limit switch closes again. Without an intact positive and negative, there is no power for the servo to rotate, including rotating away from the limit switch. The signal that tells the servo where to rotate to is the signal wire; the positive and negative are only there for power supply and have nothing to do with how much it rotates.

Your radio transmitter should have a means of setting how much travel the servos have. An experienced battler near you can help you work it out, some radios are more complicated than others (or like the cheap Chinese one I have, require a connection to a computer). The transmitter is where you want to limit travel.

3. Gascan

Gascan Active Member