Static Vs. Dynamic

Discussion in 'Ship Comparison' started by TBoGre, Dec 29, 2009.

1. TBoGre

TBoGre New Member

I am pretty new to this hobby, and i planned on making a submarine...i dont really think i plan on making it a diving one at the moment, but it was something i was considering and i was wondering what the difference was between a static diving sub and a dynamic sub and which was better and which was elss expensive.

2. Kotori87

Kotori87 Well-Known Member

Dynamic-diving subs submerge by using their diving planes to force themselves underwater. They are naturally buoyant, and can only dive when moving forward (or backward). If they stop, they will surface. Static diving subs dive by adjusting their buoyancy, and do not need to move at all in order to dive or surface.

The other significant classification, as far as submarines are concerned, is the dry-hull submarine vs the wet-hull submarine. The dry-hull submarine is just like it sounds: the entire inside is dry, with tight seals to keep water out. The wet-hull submarine is built like a real submarine: it has an inner pressure hull, that keeps out water, protects the guts, and provides bouyancy, and an outer hull that provides hydrodynamic shape but floods freely.

As far as combat submarines are concerned, the only currently-legal hull type is the dry-hull submarine. Since all ships (including submarines) are required to be both penetrable and sinkable, wet-hull submarines are not currently allowed. Keep in mind that most non-combat RC submarines are the wet-hull type, so a fair amount of the gear and technical stuff designed for them cannot be used in combat subs.