The brain of the boat

Discussion in 'Electrical & Radio' started by Bennyboy, Mar 12, 2012.

1. Bennyboy

Bennyboy New Member

Hi,
    Excuse me if the question has already been answered, I didn't have the time yet to consider all of the messages of the forum yet. I'm also new to this so I hope my question won't be stupid or anything ;)
    I've seen, like most people I guess, some products like the rapsberry being sold at a really nice price, so my question is:
    Would it be possible, in all ways (money, reliability, weigth etc...) to use that kind of system, to be able to optimize the command capacities. Like (maybe I dream a bit) having of targetting system. we are now able to get tiny cameras and recognision on kid toys. Can we get it on an RC warship? Like the boat could measure the distance and shoot at the rigth point? :D Sounds quit nice to me :)

2. warspiteIRC

warspiteIRC RIP

Most rule set will not allow it!

3. dman10

dman10 Member

it would still be cool though....alot like the real thing.

4. DarrenScott

DarrenScott -->> C T D <<--

There's a general rule of thumb I apply to any proposed "advancment".

Would I want it used against my ship?

5. tgdavies

tgdavies Active Member

When one day I get a ship going, I'd like to consider having a compass/gyro system to keep the ship on course, and a system to coordinate turret direction -- i.e. my controls are target direction and range.

Incidentally, I don't think the Raspberry Pi is a particularly good choice for this sort of thing -- its real claim to fame is that it has a very capable graphics/video decoder in its 'system on a chip', which doesn't really help with this application. I think a simple AVR would have enough grunt for most maritime applications, and better I/O, with lower power consumption and cost.

6. Kotori87

Kotori87 Well-Known Member