2.4ghz Rx placement

Discussion in 'Electrical & Radio' started by CURT, Apr 13, 2010.

1. CURT

CURT Well-Known Member

Hi guys. I need to know if there is anything unusual about these receivors regarding how their placed inside the hull. I have the FUTUBA 2.4GHZ Radio and looking at the instruction states that the antennes on the receivor must be kept straight or away from each other 90 degrees apart. Apparently it will shorten the range if they are close to each other or overlap each other. I am new to this type of Tx radio. Any quirks about it you guys have had experienced or what you did to resolve it I like to know so I don't run out of control at IRCWCC NATS.
    Thanks.

2. burnzy232

burnzy232 Member

yeah, i a simalare Rx in a heli i have, basicaly just do what the manual says, keep the wires apart, as for placing in a hull it proberbly wont matter where it is, in my heli its right under the motor next to a speed controller, and some servos, and it works no probs
    oh and whatever you do dont bend the Rx antennas at a 90 degree angle as it will shorten the range of the radio, lernt that the hard way in my rc car, bent the antanna to fit into the body, went out of range and ran into a wall breaking both a arms and bending the cvds, not fun...

3. GregMcFadden

GregMcFadden Facilitator RCWC Staff

for range sake, put it as far away from the water and anything conductive as possible... I've taken to putting the tiny RX either up in the superstructure or have the antennas go up the superstructure if long enough. It may be worth calling futaba, as I have heard about extra long antennas being available for some of their 2.4ghz receivers. by extra long I mean they basically have the standard antenna at the end of some fancy cable.

4. SnipeHunter

SnipeHunter Well-Known Member