Admiral Sparrow's Graf Spee

Discussion in 'Warship Builds' started by Craig, Jun 18, 2012.

1. Craig

Craig Active Member

Hi all. Gathering info for hints tips and tricks.... and possibly more hints. I have taken Spee down off the shelf, dusted off the radio, things seem to be in good working order. The gun kit should be arriving today / tomorrow. I have already had Spee out for a trail run and the engines don't seem to push as hard as I'd like. Because I am using Princess Auto motors, Jay (Jennings) suggested I may be using a different voltage of engine to battery voltage, today I am going to bench test that. I've got a few dozen spare sets of engines. I have never installed a gear set and would like pics or (hints/tips/tricks) if you have any out there Naval RC Combat World (NRCCW) I would appreciate it.
    Also, should anyone out there have any thoughts/ ideas or sites/pics they would like to share send the link as I will gladly check them out. I have very little experience with the smaller ships. I have gotten Spee on the water, so that is good. Ran for about twenty minutes, was not happy with the speed and brought him in. I'd like to see some set ups as I am going triple stern and was wondering if there were any known issues with mounting the guns in the back turret.
    Thoughts? Questions? Examples? NRCCW, I am listening!
    Jack Sparrow

2. bb26

bb26 Well-Known Member

Craig I think those Pricess Auto motors are 12volt motors. I have installed a pair in the southy. They will make a ship move but probably not to scale speed.

3. CURT

CURT Well-Known Member

Get a pair of 380 motors for the Graff, Geared down or ESC. 3 Blade prop . There's a site I will find that has a excellent reference and photos for a Graf Spee/Lutzow build . It Should be able to help out a lot there as there are lots of photos and explainations of the setup. i will have to check my vast favorite section to locate it.

4. bb26

bb26 Well-Known Member