barrel length

Discussion in 'Weapons & Pneumatics' started by c-wiseman, Mar 3, 2017.

1. c-wiseman

c-wiseman Member

Since this is My 3rd post. Traditionally I believe, as a newb, I am supposed to explain how all of you are doing it wrong/how I am going to revolutionize the hobby, and or/how I am going to arm a life boat in 1/144 scale. :woot:
    Instead I am going to ask a question. I was reading about how shortening barrel length can effect performance, but the builder didn't want the barrels hanging over the side. Fast gun limits the length to less that 5" from the breech. Is it possible to lower the breech and use a bent barrel similar to a Big Gun cannon to maximize barrel length , but minimize how far the barrel protruded from the turret face?

The first picture (gun-1) is one variety of fast gun cannon. The second picture (gun-2)show a canon with the breech lowered. (sorry picture order was changed when I posted)

Other than making tweaking the guns more difficult, what drawbacks would this posses? It would seem well suited to smaller ships that need to keep weight low and minimize the above deck barrel length.

The last part of my inquiry is more for big gun or battlestations. Is there a reason you could not use a bend that doubles back on itself (See 3rd Picture) to maximize barrel length? Torpedo tube could have a good length added and still not protrude from the side of the ship

I have not sen anything similar being used on the forum, so my first guess is there is an inherent problems with the design? Please help me get my mind better wrapped around gun design.

thanks,

chris

Attached Files:

Last edited: Mar 3, 2017
    KeriMorgret likes this.
  2. SnipeHunter

SnipeHunter Well-Known Member