Casting; A Walk Through

Discussion in 'Construction' started by JustinScott, Jun 5, 2008.

1. JustinScott

JustinScott Well-Known Member

Now, first off I want to say this is my first time ever making a cast. So, don't take this thread as a 'how to'; but more as a look at how I did it.

I am pretty happy with my results. They are exactly what I was trying for.

Now, I didn't photograph making a mold... So I (or someone else) will have to document that later at some point.

I created a two piece mold as the piece I wanted had the ledge in it.... I actually tried a one piece, and it failed miserably.

Here is the two piece mold, the original, and attempt (failed) #2:

[​IMG]

The mold is two colors, because I ran out of material 1/2 way through & bought new (apparently updated) stuff.

[​IMG]

Notice the pour (large) hole & the air escape hole. If I had put the air escape hole in during my first cast attempt.. I would have saved around 1oz of resin. And in the upper right corner, you will see my failed attempt #1

[​IMG]

2. JustinScott

OK,

So what does it look like to cast? For this cast, I'm making the D-Turret adapter.. you can see them in the Tirpitz Refit thread.

Visit this site

Firstly, you want to heat up the mold... They recommend a microwave, but since I don't have a microwave in my GARAGE... I used the heat gun.

So the mixing process is very hectic, so I didn't take any photos of it... Its just me mixing resin anyway. However, it is critical to get it right. What you want to do is --> Mix like crazy for about 20 seconds (look at the consistency below) then pour like crazy.

If you don't mix enough, the result doesn't dry completely & sections break off. (see failed attempt #2) If you mix too long, the resin dries in your cup. (See failed attempt #1)

...Remember we are talking about 60~90 seconds from start to finished part.

Look at the color... that is what it should look like when you are ready to pour into your mold.

[​IMG]