Copyright and laws and such?

Discussion in 'Ship Plans' started by wfirebaugh, Sep 2, 2020.

1. wfirebaugh

wfirebaugh Well-Known Member

I was needing to ask the question as I am not well versed in copy right laws. I had blown up a paper craft ship to 1/144 on print out on printer paper 6 pages to make a full sheet. I added the name of the original source to all of the sheets, past that not sure what I would need to do be able to post in the resources sections.

2. wdodge0912

wdodge0912 Well-Known Member

Now Im not lawyer, but im.pretty sure since it is hobby use and would be free, where you arent charging or making a profit, it would be perfectly legal under fair use laws, as long as credit is given. But like I said, I'm not a lawyer so take my words with a grain of salt.

3. SnipeHunter

SnipeHunter Well-Known Member

If you aren't the copyright holder or have their permission you shouldn't do it. Just enlarging a drawing doesn't make it a new original work. Adding the name just lets everyone know who's work you're giving away for free.

If it's in the public domain or something like that it's ok, if you paid for the original it probably isn't.

4. Justin Ragucci

Justin Ragucci Well-Known Member

Look at the copy right date anything after 20 years without being renewed is fair game. That’s how music works anyway. That’s why in books it will say copy right 1993,1999,2002,2008. So for example if it says copyright 1993 then the plans that you have were copyrighted in 1993 so you would have to check to see if they were renewed any time after 2000 if they were them you can’t use them if they weren’t then they are free game if it is the same way as music.

5. KeriMorgret

KeriMorgret Facilitator RCWC Staff Vendor

Check further, it's a bit longer than that for most media. If you have some information about your sources, that'd be great to share.

6. Justin Ragucci

Justin Ragucci Well-Known Member