Cruiser vs Battlecruiser

Discussion in 'General' started by aleMI, Mar 15, 2017.

1. aleMI

aleMI Active Member

Hello all,
    Looking to get into this hobby (Posted my introduction over at the GLAS forum). I am interested in either a Northampton or Moltke kit as a first ship. At the moment I'm concerned about build ease, as I have little RC build experience. I plan to try to make it to one of GLAS's battle sessions or NATS if I can. In the meantime, I'm perusing this site for information. According to strike models,a 3 unit cruiser is the easiest to start with, but I stumbled across some threads recommending a battlecruiser instead due to a bigger hull, more stability, and more weight reserve to work with. I looked up the IRCWCC rules that WillCover sent me, and it appears the Moltke has a max weight of 20 lb vs the Northampton's 11.5 lb. I personally like the way the Northampton looks (Ive always been a sucker for the American treaty cruisers), but I'm wondering if I'm better off starting on a Moltke, since it has 8.5 lb more to work with, albeit having an extra cannon.
    Also, since I would likely be ordering from Strike Models, are the battling kits, which include all the major components needed except radio/ batteries a good option? It's a tempting option for me, as I would have most of the necessary components all at once, and save on shipping. Thanks for your help!
    PS, I like the way the Moltke looks too, not knocking the ship or anything haha. I'm open on other ship recommendations too, like the Invincible.

Last edited: Mar 15, 2017
    Tugboat likes this.
  2. SteveT44

SteveT44 Well-Known Member

I'd say stick with the Northampton. It's a perfect learning boat and Strike makes an excellent kit. If ease and speed of build are important, the battling kit is a very good option.

Tugboat likes this.
  3. WillCover

WillCover -->> C T D <<--

Craig in Muskegon (Panzer) may have a hull or 2 for sale he's been busy lately

4. WillCover