DKM Prinz Eugen, first build (IRCWCC)

Discussion in 'Warship Builds' started by Fridge, Jan 21, 2020.

1. Fridge

Fridge Active Member

Hello, everyone! I'm Matt, from the Houston area. I've been into RC airplanes for a while, but I'm new to the world of RC warship combat. @ZARUBA1987 and @Prussian reached out to me a while back from the welcome section to come check out some boats, and after a bit of talking shop, I've decided to build my first ship, the DKM Prinz Eugen.

USS_Prinz_Eugen_(IX_300)_at_sea_during_Operation__Crossroads.PNG

I chose Prinz for multiple reasons. It was recommended to me to start with a 3 or 4 unit ship to have more space to work in for a beginning setup, but not have too much electronics or weight to worry about with too big a ship. Ted recommended to start with a fiberglass hull, and there are fiberglass hulls of Prinz available from Modelshipsahoy, one of which I purchased recently to get started with. The most important reason, though, is that I picked a ship I like. :)

John convinced me to post a build log after we began finding the waterline at his place and after I began cutting windows, so there won't be many pictures of the start of the process. I'll post what I've got so far in the near future.

Last edited: Jan 21, 2020
    Evan Fowler, jch72 and Renodemona like this.
  2. Commodore

Commodore Well-Known Member

Good luck!

3. greechronicles

greechronicles Member

good choice

4. Fridge

Fridge Active Member

Here's the follow up to my initial post. My phone camera isn't very good, some pictures may not be very clear.

A big package came in with the hull in it. Same day John got his Littorio frame, it was like Boat Christmas. :)
    IMG_20200117_104543_01.jpg