First Ship

Discussion in 'Ship Comparison' started by Savage 1776, Jun 2, 2014.

1. Savage 1776

Savage 1776 New Member

I am new to this great hobby and looking for my first vessel! I am just a teenager and I would like some suggestions on a fairly simple but nice first ship. Since I live in Iowa, I doubt there are any clubs arond, so I do not really need to follow a set of rules and regulations. I would like to make a big gun ship and I have been eyeing the Prinz Eugen and the Andrea Doria on Battlersconnect.com. I would really like a ship of that size or smaller (The Prinz Eugen is a little larger than what i want though). I do not have any expeerience in this end of the rc hobby, I only have a few short course trucks. Any suggestions and help for an inexperienced captain would be Great!

2. irnuke

irnuke -->> C T D <<--

Read over the many build threads on this site for hints on how to build. If you purchase a kit from BattlersConnection (or Strike), what you'll get is a fiberglass hull, plans, and turrets. Possibly more depending on which kit & what level you pay for. You really don't want to build anything much smaller than a Graf Spee / Northampton since smaller=harder to cram everything needed in, so either of your listed ships are good choices.

Needed items:
    Radio & receiver
    Drive & pump motors
    pump
    guns. Note, small guns / fast gun bb-firing guns are available for purchase. Big Gun will have to be built by you from scratch.
    propeller(s)
    drive shaft(s)
    rudder(s)
    balsa for skin
    wood for subdecks & decks
    paint
    wiring
    batteries
    CO2 bottle & regulator
    hose for CO2 to guns
    fire control, either poppet valves & servos or solenoid (aka "Kips") & firing boards.

Hope this helps. Feel free to post any questions

3. Savage 1776

Savage 1776 New Member