First Warship

Discussion in 'Ship Comparison' started by NooNoo200, Mar 12, 2008.

1. NooNoo200

NooNoo200 New Member

I'm new to warship building, and was wondering if anyone had any advice on building a ship like the Austro-Hungarian predreadnouught Radetzky.

2. Tugboat

Tugboat Facilitator RCWC Staff Admiral (Supporter)

Are you looking to battle her Big Gun, or Fast Gun, or Battlestations? :)

3. NooNoo200

NooNoo200 New Member

I would be with the Midwest battle group, which I believe is Big Gun,

4. Tugboat

Hmm... well, welcome! Someone who is expert in Big Gun will doubtless be along shortly :) The limit of my big gun knowledge relates to planning the guns for my 1/96 Tirpitz.

5. Anachronus

Anachronus Well-Known Member

The generic advice is to do a cruiser of some sort. The German Panzerschiffes are perennial favourites.

6. NooNoo200

NooNoo200 New Member

Problem being that I can't transport a ship with a scale length of over 3 1/2 ft. I'm also guessing that the beam is a bit narrow for a first boat.

7. Anachronus

A predreadnought is probably your best bet. Not so limited in big gun I would think.

Fastgun PDN's are stuck with some rules disadvantages in MWCI I think.

There are armored cruisers to think of too. If you want a premade hull there is Battlers Connection who make the SMS Scharnhorst, Tugboat lists some English Armored Cruisers on his site but I am not sure if the are in production yet. BC also has the USS Mississippi/Greek Kilkis hull, just on the market.

8. djranier

djranier Well-Known Member

Yes in MWC fastgun, there is not much reason to build a predred, but I have posted a rules change and collected plenty of co-signers, so hopefully that will change soon enough, after the votes the end of the year.