fixed gun depression / range and safety consideration

Discussion in 'Age of Sail' started by meatbomber, Jan 9, 2012.

1. meatbomber

meatbomber Member

i`m just thinking into the blue here as i have no experience with these BB gun battles... but ive had a lot of heeling in my Square rigger sailing experience.
    Now there has been some discussion about moveable cannons installations with pendulums and gyros etc. here`s an idea for fixed insatllations (especially for smaller models which won`t be able to either affort the space nor weight of amore complex installation)
    Floating level no heel, the Cannons are installed depressed so that the shot hits the water at say 3-4ft out. Most AoS engagements have been fought yardarm to yardarm, as gunnery training was much cheaper and easier when the opponent was to fill teh gunport rather than try and hit a moving target from a moving platform at long range. Especially the smaller units where mostly equipped with carronades which due their short barrel where very inaccurate at long range. so shart range gunnery is realistic and promotes tactics emploeyed at the time.
    Now heel the ship until the shot hits the water at (insert max safe distance my guess 30ft !?) and mark waterline on teh hull, the hull is then to be painted in whatever realistic colour are used normally down to that heeled waterline, below that line some high contrast colour is used like yellow, white, orange, no matter... now with the ship heeled far enough to show the unsafe signal colour the skipper knows he might not fire his guns as his shot is going somwhere into space rather than the pond.
    My sailing experience showed my ship consistently heels about 25-30° and sometimes far enough to knock her down... as soon as i have enough sail on her to be fun to sail.