FlySky Button Conversion Troubleshoot

Discussion in 'Electrical & Radio' started by tgalx3, Mar 24, 2024.

  1. tgalx3

    tgalx3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Posts:
    687
    Location:
    Snohomish, WA
    I am attempting to switch the right stick on my fly sky over to buttons. I got it all wired up but when I connect one of the buttons to power(red) up, the radio doesn't turn on at all. When I leave that specific button disconnected (from power) and connect the other 3 the radio turns on. Finally, when I press the two remaining buttons that are connected to power, ground and signal, the radio shuts off.

    I then noticed that I had a different resistor installed than the one in the video I was following. I bought 2.2Ohm resistors instead of 2.2k Ohm resistors. Would that be a cause for my issues?
     
  2. Seventy Two

    Seventy Two Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2022
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Auburn, WA
    Hello. Our club always used the 2.2K ohm resistors and it worked very well.
    I believe the principle is you're using 2 X 2.2 K ohm resistors to replace the 5 K ohm stick.
    See if that helps.
     
  3. tgalx3

    tgalx3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Posts:
    687
    Location:
    Snohomish, WA

    I understand what you’re saying. That explains why to use 2.2k resistors.
    Just guessing but it sounds like that’s my problem. I don’t have enough resistance and it’s shutting down the transmitter.
     
  4. Seventy Two

    Seventy Two Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2022
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Auburn, WA
    Yes, I do believe you are correct.
     
  5. Kevin P.

    Kevin P. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Posts:
    1,731
    Location:
    Chantilly, VA
    Could you send a picture of the wiring?
     
  6. tgalx3

    tgalx3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Posts:
    687
    Location:
    Snohomish, WA
    Sure.
    Orange wire = red = power
    Brown wire = black = ground
    white wire = signal.

    I know I don't have any resistors on there. I cut them off because I suspected they are they wrong ones.

    Edit: I'm sure my soldering skills could be improved too.


    IMG_1358.JPEG IMG_1359.JPEG IMG_1360.JPEG
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2024
  7. Beaver

    Beaver 2020 Rookie of the Year Admiral (Supporter)

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,682
    Location:
    Central PA
    I'm pretty sure you have that right. Just needs some 2.2k ohm resistors across the switches.
     
    tgalx3 likes this.
  8. tgalx3

    tgalx3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Posts:
    687
    Location:
    Snohomish, WA
    Sounds good. Thanks
     
  9. Kevin P.

    Kevin P. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Posts:
    1,731
    Location:
    Chantilly, VA
    Looks correct to me, when you get the resistors I would check to make sure there is no contact between solder/wires from one post to the next, soldering the small wires is a PITA. If you still get odd behavior, the wires from the radio could be mixed up
     
  10. tgalx3

    tgalx3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Posts:
    687
    Location:
    Snohomish, WA
    Cool. Thanks for checking it out.

    Having the wrong wires connected was my first thought. I actually connected them one at a time and tested them individually, I am quite confident they are correct. But I will make sure.
     
  11. Renodemona

    Renodemona Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    831
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    Is the insert thingy to replace the gimble on thingverse or somewhere to get?
     
  12. tgalx3

    tgalx3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Posts:
    687
    Location:
    Snohomish, WA
    I have uploaded to the resources here but just waiting on admin to approve it
     
  13. tgalx3

    tgalx3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Posts:
    687
    Location:
    Snohomish, WA
    It looks like the resource was posted this morning.
     
  14. Kotori87

    Kotori87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    3,525
    The classic button mod is designed to emulate the action of a common potentiometer with two buttons and a pair of resistors. It works on almost any radio. But if you know your specific radio, there are easier options. The cheap flysky radios are remarkably robust and easy to modify without replacing a pot. What you do instead is remove the entire gimbal assembly (as before), but leave those potentiometers unplugged. They're just not necessary. Instead, you take two of the switch channels, and replace each switch with a pair of buttons. Both their two-position switches and three-position switches connect to the main board in the same way, so it doesn't even matter which switches you replace. I plan to do this mod to a few of my Flysky radios after I finish Invincible and Von Der Tann. Obviously finishing the main build comes before button mods.
     
    Anvil_x and tgalx3 like this.
  15. tgalx3

    tgalx3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Posts:
    687
    Location:
    Snohomish, WA
    Update

    I got it working! Having the right resistors makes all the difference. To be honest, doing the button conversions intimidated me for some reason. But it wasn't too bad and a fun little project. I'll definitely be doing the conversion for all my combat ships.

    IMG_1361.JPEG