Hello and greetings!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Sean S, Jan 9, 2024.

1. Sean S

Sean S New Member

My name is Sean, and I am a novice to R/C Warship combat. Thought I would introduce myself here!

notSoGnarly likes this.
  2. bsgkid117

bsgkid117 Vendor

Hi there!

You're in a great location, within a few hours of a number of different larger groups of battlers.

IRCWCC has a number of captains sprinkled around PA/Ohio/Michigan/etc area.

Is there a specific ship that you're interested in?

Welcome!

3. Boatmeister

Boatmeister Active Member

Where about are you in Ohio?

4. Sean S

Sean S New Member

Thanks! I'm near Columbus Ohio. Sounds good to me! As for ships, not sure. Probably Bismarck because that's the first battleship I started to really dive into. But I like almost all ships lol.

5. Boatmeister

There is a group in the Dayton area that does treaty style combat and are very active. Get a hold of rcengr or pba. I think they have build sessions every Tuesday evening

6. bsgkid117

bsgkid117 Vendor

Bismarck is a big boat, big boats generally are expensive and more difficult to build. Now, theres a sliding curve here...super small boats are equally hard to build (some may say even harder to build). A really good starter boat is something in the class 3-5 range. Some boats that come to mind are:

Suffren (roomy, easy to build, easy+cheap to outfit properly. 2 guns, 1 pump, 1 driven propeller.)
    Cleveland (Suffren, but even roomier, add a second drive motor + propeller)
    Des Moines (Big heavy cruiser, add a third gun to Cleveland)
    Admiral Graf Spee (Des Moines but far smaller, have to be careful of weight or it'll be a submarine)
    Invincible (Good starter sidemount-capable battlecruiser. Not super great at anything, but you get 3 cannons and a pump in an easy to build + maintain boat.)
    Von Der Tann (Harder to build than Invincible, more complicated hull shape. Otherwise the same)