Hello from Toledo, Washington

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Jeremy Cook, Jul 4, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Jeremy Cook

Jeremy Cook New Member

Hello, im Jeremy Cook. I'm a newbie when it comes to rc electronics, I want to learn and get into the hobby. most of my teen years I have build ships out of wood and sold them. I've always wanted to do rc warships because it looks fun and relaxing and gets my mind to think when it comes to working on ship models. I'm 18 years old and I'm a starting college student for naval engineering and I want to work to be a naval engineer. My father always worked everyday so he didn't really help me on my hobbys. My grandfather passed away when I was 8 and he worked in the navy on the USS L Resized952018112895214507.jpg exington, he would probably work with me and my hobbys if he was here. My other grandpa in a us airforce officer and cannot swim and is afraid of water. So I am mostly on my own with my hobbys but I am trying to learn and to explore.

2. GregMcFadden

GregMcFadden Facilitator RCWC Staff

Where are you going to college. There is a group of us in Seattle.

3. Kotori87

Kotori87 Well-Known Member

Welcome aboard, Jeremy! There are several combat clubs in Washington, including both Fast Gun and 1/72 scale combat. Depending on where you are and how far you want to travel, you've got options.

BTW that is a very nice frigate you're building. Have you ever considered making it R/C? There are a number of people who build and sail square-rigged ships from the great Age of Sail. It is a great way to understand not just WHAT old sailing ships did, but WHY they did it. I personally have two 1:96 scale tall ships, the Constitution and the Victory, and I'm working on a 1:48 scale Constitution for combat. Not that there are many other age-of-sail combatants out there, but hey somebody has to be first :)

4. Jeremy Cook

Jeremy Cook New Member