HMS Hood, First Build

Discussion in 'Warship Builds' started by Brandon Smith, Feb 17, 2020.

1. Brandon Smith

Brandon Smith New Member

Hey Everyone,

I am new to the hobby and would love to say how much I am enjoying it so far! I was a stick plane kind of guy before I decided to venture down this path. The closest club is about 2.5 hours away, so it seems I am building on my own. With that I have a few new guy questions and if you could lend some experience I would greatly appreciate it.

I have watched numerous videos and read countless threads, but still have a few questions that I'm sure are going to be fairly easy.

I am currently in the early part of my Hood constructions, (see pictures for progress) and I am getting to the point where I am in need of some advice.

First, the Hood has four props are most battlers running all four or just two with two dummy props?

Next, ESC's will I need and ESC for each or can the motors be jumped together and still ran off the one?

Motor's...brushless or brushed? I see on BC that a 550 Brushed seems to do the job but looking for experience of why to go brushed or brushless...

Thanks again in advanced!

Attached Files:

2. bsgkid117

bsgkid117 Vendor

@rcengr Is part of the Ohio group I do believe, but they mainly run Treaty(?) I believe ruleset. Not traditional IRCWCC Fastgun.

In fastgun, Hood isn't the most competitive boat but if that's the one you have your heart set on don't let that stop you. Yes, 550 brushed motors would do fine and in fast gun you would power the center 2 shafts and have dummy/drag props on the outer 2 shafts. Brushed motors you can have multiple motors on 1 ESC, just keep in mind the load of the motors and the max amperage rating of the ESC.