HMS York

Discussion in 'North Atlantic Battle Squadron' started by Bob Pottle, Sep 19, 2013.

1. Bob Pottle

Bob Pottle Well-Known Member

For years I've considered building the heavy cruiser HMS York, half-sister of the Exeter. It meets my criteria for building unusual looking models with its very tall, narrow bridge, designed to overlook a catapult and plane that were never fitted on B turret. The bridge is tiny compared to Exeter's so will give improved stability.
    York has the same 3.0 units as the larger County Class heavy cruisers but in a hull several inches shorter with only 3 main turrets and a low quarterdeck. My experience running the Canarias (a Kent Class hull) was that a North Carolina Class BB could out-turn it, but not by much. With the shorter hull York should have a tighter turning circle, which is an advantage over a County or a Canarias Class. The space and weight restrictions won't be a problem because I've had a lot of experience building small R/C combat models.
    Having the aft turret with dual BB cannons a deck lower than in the County Class is an advantage but the aft turret on York is still too far from the stern for very close range waterline targetting. Only Suffolk/Cumberland can do that because their cut-down quarterdeck starts immediately aft of Y turret.
    I have a great set of superstructure plans for HMS York in the Raven and Roberts book on British Cruisers of WWII and will order the Exeter hull from Strike. I still plan to acquire Piper's HMS Cumberland in Dec. and later build London or Dorsetshire on one of Steve Hill's hulls.
    With the exception of Warspite I've had more fun operating cruisers and other small ships than battleships. I'll probably sell two of my three battleship projects (Hood, Vanguard and Rodney), armoured cruiser HMS Minotaur, and my incomplete Japanese CV IJN Ikuma.
    Bob

2. CURT

CURT Well-Known Member

How much would the Hood go for Bob? and is the Vanguard completed?

3. CURT