how 2 skin

Discussion in 'Construction' started by Evil Joker, Dec 17, 2007.

1. Evil Joker

Evil Joker Member

how do u skin a ship um going to be there soon. any how 2 or pictures would be nice (konig and vdt) its my first time so go esay ...lol ty steve

2. Gascan

Gascan Active Member

Find out how much balsa you can conform to the hull at a time. Fit the balsa to the hull and test how much you can handle and if it can handle the curves (1/8" balsa can be a real pain on sharp curves). Cut the balsa so the seams are on the middle of a rib. Apply glue (I like CA glue) to the ribs and subdeck (and below the penetrable if it hangs over instead of butting up like many wooden hulls) then apply the balsa. Start at one end of the section of balsa and work out any warping as you go to the other side. I have a slave... er... twin brother to help hold the balsa or spray kicker on the glue. Fill in the seams and ends with wood filler and sand smooth.

3. djranier

djranier Well-Known Member

Alot of us use contact cement also to hold the balsa on. Apply to both sides, wait till its almost dry, and then press together, Just make sure its on straight, because you may not get it back off. You can thin it with MEK, for easier application, best to do outside due to fumes.

4. JohnmCA72

JohnmCA72 Member

Isn't there a "How to" page on the site somewhere, that goes over this with photos? If not, there should be (not volunteering - I don't even own a camera).

Here's how I do it - pretty much the same as others have described: