How can I start with building a pre-dreadnought?

Discussion in 'Warship Builds' started by Sixth Doctor, Dec 4, 2023.

1. Sixth Doctor

Sixth Doctor New Member

Hi, everyone.

I’m new to the hobby and would be interested in building a ship (probably for fast gun, as it seems more likely to be UK safe, and I’ll be moving there next year,)

I am particularly interested in pre-dreadnoughts. What would I need to build my first ship beyond a hull? Some of my favorite ships of the period; Pelayo, the Maria Theresas, Osylbaya, Chen Yuen.

I’m told ironclads aren’t really practical. I assume this also applies to the larger examples? Roanoke, Dunderberg, Yazoo, New Jersey (Steven’s Battery.)

2. JustinScott

JustinScott Well-Known Member

Depends on your skills..

however, for most people, id recommended picking up a shit kit from Will. Once you have one ship under your belt, then you’ll have a lot of knowledge on how to do a scratch built if you’d like.

Link to his shop:
    https://www.southjerseyshipyards.com/products/ship-kits

3. Sixth Doctor

Sixth Doctor New Member

Thanks. I’ve seen his site, but I’m unsure what else I would need. For example, I was looking at USS Wasp.

4. bsgkid117

bsgkid117 Vendor

:woot: come on now, my kits aren't that bad!

5. bsgkid117

bsgkid117 Vendor

Hi there, I'm the aforementioned Will, I run SJS.

Wasp is designed as a large convoy ship for IRCWCC combat. It isn't armed, it's basically a large slow moving target ship. During our "Campaign" game that happens twice a year at Nationals, those convoy ships have to go out in the water and survive for 5 minutes at a time with no pump or anything. If they make it, their team receives points corresponding to that ship's size.

Wasp wouldn't be built as a combat model, she would not be armed with cannon or anything.

My ship kits come with basically everything you would need, minus actual functioning electronics. Ship Kit Details (southjerseyshipyards.com)