how to, for a transport

Discussion in 'Construction' started by burnzy232, Apr 7, 2010.

1. burnzy232

burnzy232 Member

ok, this is a re edit on my build of my ss wollongbar, this how to has some of my tips and a lot of other tips from forum members as it is my first build and it will include pionters from my other thred over in the ship build section where i ask how to do somthing myself:)
    ill add more pics and words as i go through the build
    ok so this is how i marked and taped the windows on the hull, again this is just how i did it but it may profide some tips on going about this if you havent built a ship before, if others have tips please add them if you want and ill put them in as they are posted, and this is for big gun rules.
    so, the first step is to mark out the water line on the hull, to do this i first found a very flat surface(its better if its perfectly flat), to clamp the hull to, with clamping the hull, get a scrap peice of wood that will fit inside the bottom of the hull and put a cloth on the surface that hull is being clamped to and then simply put the clamp on the wood and the bottom of the bench/surface, this will provide proecton to the hull as well as being more secure.
    the flat surface i used was a big piece of glass from a set of ikea shelves, now to get the correct hight of the water line tape your texta to a block of wood, i used a sanding block becasue it slides well on the glass, and measure the water line hight off the plans then just add or remove pieces of balsa so that the tip of the texta is at the water line
    then its just a matter of sliding your block with texta allong the glass making sure to get a clear line on the hull.