I'm new to this hobby

Discussion in 'Construction' started by poncho_guy, Jul 30, 2021.

1. poncho_guy

poncho_guy New Member

I would like to know what you make hulls out of and how they're made.

2. darkapollo

darkapollo Well-Known Member

Three basic types.
    wood
    Fiberglass
    3d printed.

It all depends on your wants. Fiberglass is the easiest to do. You just buy the hull and you’re good to go. Then you just build out following along with any of the dozens of build threads or member how-to videos. Fiberglass hulls are simply the easiest way to get a boat on the water.

Wooden hulls take a long time to build and can become quite the project. If you want to know your boat down to the last glue joint, this is the way to go. Wood builds can be as fun as they are frustrating.
    To build a wooden hull, you need a rib plan (or stations) and then need to build them to the rulesets of your preferred combat style or local club. Typically cutting about 2 dozen ribs from quality 6mm or 1/4” birch plywood (not the hardware store junk..) laying out keels, subdecks, stringers, weather decks, and building up hard area, then covering with fiberglass.
    Wood hulls are A LOT of work.

3d printed hulls are the new kids on the scene. Battle tested but unless you have someone willing to design one for you or print one for you, they are still rather limited in availability.

Last edited: Aug 1, 2021
  3. poncho_guy

poncho_guy New Member

I do have a 3d printer (ender 3 pro) but do not know if I should just find some random STL file off the internet and cut it up into segments on freecad and use epoxy to bind together the segments (build plate is 220 x 220 mm

4. GregMcFadden

GregMcFadden Facilitator RCWC Staff