IRC website tweaks

Discussion in 'IRCWCC' started by irnuke, Jul 12, 2014.

1. irnuke

irnuke -->> C T D <<--

Hey all...

At the IRC Nats, Terry Lee Mckinzie was kind enough to volunteer himself to possibly updating the IRC website. He was also generous enough to volunteer my services, as well! ;)

Anyhoo, one thing we decided on right away was that the existing rules page was... dull. Sorry, but it is. So I've been playing around with different design elements to try a different look (not to mention update my coding skills. CSS is completely new to me)!

Take a look at the test page and let me know what you think:
    Original: http://www.ircwcc.org/files/Bylaws_Rules/Rules_2013.htm

New: http://mcspuds.net/ircwcc/pages/Rules.htm

And be gentle...I'm entirely self-taught at web design!! :cool:

2. absolutek

absolutek -->> C T D <<--

I did the current rules page, while it is lacking for graphics, I did notice the css page is not being loaded so it is not rendering some things correctly as intended (text size, hr lines, images and tables not being centred). Its not so much the rules page that is the issue, its the rest of the site (poor layout/navigation, use of java applets). I think your version does make it more difficult to read, and the the beginnings of some lines of text is rendering over your background image.

3. NickMyers

NickMyers Admin RCWC Staff

So many things about that site need attention, the rules page is not where I would begin.. Chase summarizes it well..

4. irnuke

irnuke -->> C T D <<--

No problem, Chase.... wasn't knocking the current page, just trying some different looks to see if I could improve them and how. Since that one page seemed both the most text-heavy (understandably, given the content) and flat (since the css hasn't been working), I took that one to play around with formatting ideas.