(IRCWCC) SMS Baden

Discussion in 'Warship Builds' started by wdodge0912, Feb 25, 2020.

1. wdodge0912

wdodge0912 Well-Known Member

Almost fully moved into the new house, so I will be able to start working on my boats. To start, I will be fitting out my SMS Baden.

She currently sits on her own shelf! out in the garage!

First step though is to put together my workbench. Harbor Freight 60" wood. Probably not the best thing, but at least it's something to work on, was on sale and had a 20% off super coupon. I'll need to get a legit tool box, but for now, i can start working.

The plan for the ship is to start out with the typical 4.5 guns and a full pump. Dual sterns, 75 round haymaker, and a 50 round bow.

The plan for now is to run a geared 550 brushed motor, with a Titan 12t for the pump (if a Holmes Hobbies from my crawler days doesn't work out in the pump) Running on 3s Lipos.

I do plan to go brushless for pump and drive eventually. I have a Mamba Max Pro SCT esc I can strip out of an RC Truck, with a 3500Kv or a 2400KV motor. I could use that right away for the drive, and figure out a pump motor/esc combo later. I think I would probably go with the 2400kv motor and step up to 4s lipo voltages though. we'll see.

The rudders right now are hooked up with linkages, not gears. That's something that eventually once the boat is on the water, will get changed out. Gears seem to be the way to go. I'll probably do the 3 gears with the linkage to a servo horn, instead of the gear on the servo. I'll stick that off to the side, and on the other side have the solenoids for the rear guns mounted in one of the 3d printed mounts in the resources.

Attached Files:

Boatmeister and bsgkid117 like this.
  2. bsgkid117

bsgkid117 Vendor

A 3500kv or even 2400kv brushless on a 4s battery would be way too fast for a drive motor. For reference, my Courbet has the throttle endpoint set at 9% to make speed at 28 second with a 1000kv motor, 1.5:1 gearbox, 11.1v.