Modelshipsahoy

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by modelshipsahoy, Mar 3, 2019.

1. modelshipsahoy

modelshipsahoy Vendor

It occurs to me that I’ve not properly introduced myself. I’m Tim. I’m a Sagittarius. Lol. I’m kind of a smart aleck. I’m an engineer; sailor; happily un-married to the most beautiful woman in the world Dori. Together we have 6 kids. That keeps us pretty busy. They come first. This weekend we’re building a wind tunnel for a science fair project on why birds can fly.

I LOVE FIBERGLASS. it’s my art. It started when I was a kid and my dad bought us a 16’ Hobie Cat. I started racing it and it wasn’t too long before we crashed a big hole in it when we got T-Boned by another boat. My Dad didn’t get angry... he said “well when you fix it you can use it again”. I miss Dad. He’s been gone 7 years now. Was a good man. He tought me honor and respect and hard work is what a man is.

I studied Engineering at Michigan State University. Go Green! I was 5 years a weapons engineer for General Dynamics. Then 3 years a manufacturing engineer for Sunsation. Powerboats, a fiberglass boat company.

I left there and founded Barnstormer Boats, a model making company in 2004. Over the next four years I built molds for a total of 50 models. The company was going very well and I got to the point where I was so busy that I needed help. I took on a pair of partners and things went horribly wrong from there... the only ship the doesn’t float... partnership. I caught my partners embezzlement and they cleaned out the bank account, took the computers destroyed data and I was forced to file bankruptcy. I was awarded my molds in the bankruptcy and my partners were ordered to refund customers. They did not. It was a sad thing to me. Like watching a child die.

I put my molds in storage and took a job. I pulled myself up by the bootstraps and worked my way back up to financial health, always wanting to return to my love of model making.