Newbie to this hobby

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Paul G., Jan 22, 2022.

1. Paul G.

Paul G. New Member

Hi all,
    I am new to this hobby and my son and I are working on getting assistance on getting plans and information on the systems needed to construct and build the ships.
    Thank you,
    Paul.

2. darkapollo

darkapollo Well-Known Member

Hi and welcome!
    Ask any questions and we will be happy to answer.

What types of ships are you interested in building?

3. Nomercy

Nomercy Well-Known Member

Where are you located?

4. darkapollo

Looks like Northern Ohio. GLAS could have a new member!

Evan Fowler likes this.
  5. Paul G.

Paul G. New Member

Nomercy,
    I am located just south of Cleveland Ohio.
    darkapollo,
    I love the looks of the US Destroyers. I figure my first ship will be a simple construction to get the idea of how things work. I would like to build a FFG 7 witch was the last ship I was stationed on in the mid 80 's.
    I have been building model free flight and RC airplanes for over 40 years but by fare I am not a master builder but I do have some skills. I always wanted to build ships or boats and now that I have the room and some time, I would like to dig in to a Battleship. My son has been looking into it, so I figured it would be another good hobby for him and me to do together.

Last edited: Jan 23, 2022
  6. Paul G.

Paul G. New Member

Does GLAS have a web sight? Tried searching for local clubs that do this and coming up short.
    Thank you

7. darkapollo

Mostly you will find everyone on this forum. They follow the IRCWCC rules: http://ircwcc.com/
    Really, what ever group you want to be associated with. I just know GLAS is up in the Great Lakes area (the GL in GLAS..).