PFB's Lützow (IRCWCC)

Discussion in 'Warship Builds' started by pigeonfarmboy, Jun 27, 2016.

1. pigeonfarmboy

pigeonfarmboy Well-Known Member

Got a Strike Lutzow kit I'm starting. This is my first build along with the Vac-u-boat Fletcher. Thought I was going to get my windows cut this weekend. Turns out the top of the hull needs to be cut straight for measuring reference first. (I am a hobby machinist which is probably a really bad thing for boat building. But I'd rather it be right than have to make big fixes later on)

Wavy Gravy! (this is the "good" side)
    [​IMG]

Decided to use 17 Ribs @ 1/4" and 1 @ 3/8". I will space ribs to 1" apart in bow and open the spacing apart towards the stern. Will post photos before cutting to verify.

Questions:
    1. Planning to run dual sterns with solenoid actuation. Should I run a 50 & 75 cannon with large pump or go for two 75s with a small pump? Thinking the latter would be a better setup. Too bad as the kit comes with the 50 for a bow gun.

2. Armor belt stringer does not count towards allowed non-penetrable area correct?

3. Drill bit size for window corners is 5/32 or 3/16? BC and Strike instructions have conflicting info.

4. What do you guys use to measure the 45* angle cutoff point for the bottom of windows? I used my tablesaw angle ruler but it's only eyeball accuracy at best.

2. Beaver

Beaver 2020 Rookie of the Year Admiral (Supporter)

Swanson speed square. One of the most useful tools in my shop.

3. absolutek

absolutek -->> C T D <<--

What ruleset are you building for? You can't do two 75 round cannons unless you are building for Treaty. You could do any combination of 50 round cannon (1.0 units), 75 round cannon (1.5 units, max one in IRCWCC) and pump (large 1.0 unit or small 0.5 unit) that you like. If you are new, I would suggest a stern 75 round (this will be your primary gun) and bow 50 round cannons with a large pump because you will make mistakes and you will need it.