Pump question

Discussion in 'Age of Sail' started by Wmemlo, May 28, 2015.

1. Wmemlo

Wmemlo Member

I was curious about the rationale behind the gph limit on the pump. I come from a fast gun format, so I have no experience with a rate limited pump. Why not have a restrictor and let captains decide how much space/weight via batteries/motor they devote to damage control? Doesn't a gph limit mean that a ship of size x will sink with roughly y number of holes? I'd rather have more control of when I sink/strike. Just asking, as I said I have no experience with this method of pump restrictions.
    And yes, I do plan on starting a ship once my Bismarck is off the building slip. The Commerce De'Marseille.

2. Cannonman

Cannonman Ultimate Hero :P -->> C T D <<--

I could be wrong, but I think this is exactly the point, it would more reflect what would happen in full a scale ship with x amount of displacement with y number of holes in it. Big gun tends to design rules to allow ships to "reflect" their historic ships construction, as opposed to trying to make a somewhat leveled out field such as fast gun. Fast gun rules tend to even out the ships a bit to try to encourage more different ships on the pond by making some less capable ships more r/c battle worthy. The big gun rules tend to more accurately reflect each ships individual characteristics regarding speed and armor etc. The negative effect of that is that fewer people want to build less battle capable ships.

3. Wmemlo

Wmemlo Member

I would think requiring spec pump systems would tend to even things out more that a restrictor type system, since you can get the flexibility to decide to run more ah and a robust motor in the latter. I guess I'll just have to see how I feel about it when I try it.

4. mike5334

mike5334 Well-Known Member