questions from the noob

Discussion in 'General' started by marsman1993, Mar 29, 2011.

1. marsman1993

marsman1993 Member

HI! In a few weeks I might be able to finally afford to order a ship and get started building. I am thinking about either getting the HMS Invincible, or the SMS Moltke. I'm also looking at buying th cannons, pump, batteries, etc, etc, instead of building them due to the fact that I have no experience in ship building, or someone to help me if I screw something up. Now some of the questions that I have is, do I have to order everything at once in order to start building? Or can I order it all a little at a time? I mean do I order the ship and the hardware kit at once, then once I have some cash, get the pump and cannons? Also, with not having anyone to help me with building a ship, would the info on this site, and the instructions that come with the kits be enough for me to get the boat built? I know some of it will come down to how well you are with learning how things work and how well you are with building. As far as that goes, I LOVE putting stuff together and figuring out how things work. Especially when it involves rc electronics. TIA:laugh::p:laugh::p!!!

2. djranier

djranier Well-Known Member

No you can start with just he hull if you want. cut the windows, and add the subdeck, and deck, which is just plywood you can get locally from a hobby store. Then add the shafts and rudder later as you can afford them. Of course this approach will add additional shipping costs to your final total.

But it is nice to have everything as you are building, the guns come in handy, because you can put them into place, and make sure nothing else in your layout will interfer with them, or anything else.

3. Bob

Bob Well-Known Member

Buy as much as you can to start with, makes building much easier. But you can always get stuff latter. The radio is not needed until the end. You can wait on the bottle and regulator, guns all higher priced items.