throttle set up with speed adjust-resistor--Question

Discussion in 'Washington Cascade Column' started by joe thomer, Apr 2, 2011.

  1. mike5334

    mike5334 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    1,877
    Location:
    Mississippi
    I had a Lutzow once with that single motor/dual shaft gearbox in it. It worked well using a stock BC motor. Don't rule it out as an option. :)
     
  2. NickMyers

    NickMyers Admin RCWC Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Posts:
    4,406
    Location:
    Federal Way, WA


    If you wanted to stick with the 380 size motors you'd need two gearboxes, one for each shaft. No biggie.

    I'm not real wild about the 1 motor - 2 shafts gearboxes, but lots of guys seem to have had good fortune with them. Before yo ugo that route though, measure the distance between your propshafts vs the distance between the output shafts on the gearbox. Your dogbones can pick up some small differences but the measurement really needs to be close to work well.
     
  3. Hovey

    Hovey Admiral (Supporter)

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    323
    Location:
    Washington
    You can use either two of the smaller gearboxes or one of the twin shaft/single motor gear boxes (with a 550 motor) to power your ship. Gearing down the shaft might seem like it is going to slow down the ship but if the motors are straining to move the ship then by reducing their load they will spin faster and your prop speed should turn out about the same. The difference would be that you don't trip up your ESC and you might see slightly better acceleration. Electric motors are not like gas motors, they behave differently and actually like to be run at higher rpm's with a light load.
    When in series they are running at half speed because each one is getting only about half the voltage. Voltage determines motor rpm. Hook one of theose up to 12v and you will see what I mean. Lower voltage will not help your speed controler out though as it is too much current (amps) that is tripping up your esc.
     
  4. joe thomer

    joe thomer Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Posts:
    194
    thx for the info hovey. looking at getting a gear box. also, change the speed controler today to a viper 25 amp. did not run it full throttle, worked fine today. going to try again tommorrow also. but defintly, going to install gear box, just not sure if trwo singles or a double shaft with one engine.
     
  5. joe thomer

    joe thomer Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Posts:
    194